PDA

View Full Version : Google starting its own paypal like service


justin
06/18/2005, 11:33
Just heard about this, seems pretty interesting.
Maybe the competition will spark some lower rates all around. What do you guys think?

http://www.reuters.com/financeNewsArticle.jhtml?type=bondsNews&storyID=8827946

Varelse
06/18/2005, 12:02
Strong competitor would definitely help in this market.
Especially if they service countries not faciliated by PayPal (*cough*). After settling in these countries, they have a big chance of being equal competitor with PP.

And the other one - GreenZap - have anyone heard anything about it? They have really big promotional campaign running now ($25 for signing up).

hitman
06/18/2005, 12:27
Really there is need of some very big players to dilute the monopoly of paypal in this field.

IRN101
06/18/2005, 12:48
There is great demand for something like this. Frankly I'm surprised someone hasn't come along before. PayPal makes HUGE profits...

pim
06/18/2005, 15:58
And the other one - GreenZap - have anyone heard anything about it? They have really big promotional campaign running now ($25 for signing up).

I read they were scam. Not sure if it is true, but be careful

justin
06/18/2005, 16:21
I've never heard anything about them (greenzap). Anyone know what their fees/commissions are like?

Varelse
06/18/2005, 16:59
I read they were scam. Not sure if it is true, but be careful
I'll be for sure! :D I'm not going to use it unless it becomes really reliable service.
I am not a beta tester ;) Thanks for warning anyway.

hexadesigns
06/20/2005, 01:58
Make a seach on google on the keywords "greenzap scam" without quotes. I think you will get the answers. :)

Varelse
06/20/2005, 06:05
Hexadesigns: You're right!

user7
06/22/2005, 10:11
It was only a matter of time - they are becoming the Uber Lords of the net imo.

maarek
06/23/2005, 03:15
Hello.

BTW, PayPal can be you from Poland now. But don't know if they offer full service...

M.

techcode
06/23/2005, 04:27
Existence of site that is talking bad about some other site doesn't prove anything. Actually existence of many sites doesn't prove anything as writers are know for "rewriting" others news.

IMHO it could be just an very good disinformation launched by competitors.

I don't know the exact story, but it's how Allies beat Germany (In II WW if I'm correct). They planted info that they will attack in one place, and they actually were planing attack on other place all the time.

Then there is Trojan horse of course. And many more cases during history.

From wars, they switched to business in latter years. Well actually they are still used in wars too (I felt that on my skin, I'm from Serbia). In both cases they become sophisticated, highly organised techniques to deal with opponents.

Not to mention that http://www.greenzapscam.com/ has an banner for www.alertpay.com.

But I do agree that GreenZap seems a little bit odd. Few things I spotted :

GeoTrust banner does not look exactly like one of geotrust website (original one doesn't have animation), nor it links to page that should confirm GreenZap's status with GeoTrust.

dcm
06/23/2005, 05:11
sorry guys for disturbance for but this is not right place for this kind of discussion .. this thread should be in off topic discussion.. this forums is only for scriptlance related discussion...